Thoughts on Violence…

22 11 2011

My posting here has been somewhat spasmodic of late. The busyness of life, work, finding a new house, starting an MA etc has squashed out some of my more frivolous activities such as filling the ether with my rambling thoughts. But in case you fancy reading articles I’ve posted elsewhere, here are a couple of links:

About a week ago I wrote an article over at whatyouthinkmatters.org entitled ‘Who Would Jesus Punch?’ trying to model how to begin thinking biblically about an issue like violence in sports. It generated a little debate (and even gained a response from the venerable otter St Stuffed Shirt. I’m honoured, I think) and as a result we’ve started a little mini-series on issues surrounding Christians and violence.

Matthew Hosier kicked off the series yesterday with ‘War and Peace pt 1’, providing a brief historical overview of the debate on war and pacifism: a particularly helpful read if you don’t have the time or inclination to dip into the voluminous sources from the early church and theologians of the middle ages. And today the first of my posts has gone up: ‘The Right to Bear the Sword the State has’, looking at Yoder on Romans 12-13 (see what I did there?) It won’t answer (m)any of your questions, but hopefully will raise one big fat one at the end, to which I’d love to hear some responses. (Pop them on that site rather than here, so everyone can join in the discussion)

The series will continue all week… Enjoy

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 12 2011
Joey

I missed that one, interesting post you wrote, there’s some things that you haven’t thought about though, maybe I should go and write something there, when I have time, as I’m translating all the time at the mo’… 😛

15 12 2011
liamthatcher

Be my guest… but you ought to read the whole series, since that was only 1 post of 5, and not at all intending to be comprehensive.

Leave a Reply

